Private Lessons and Group Classes

Gryphon is proud to be working with some of the top instructors in the Bay Area. Please view their profiles below for more information.

  • Teaching Staff

    • Carol McComb

      Group guitar classes only in a variety of folk styles, 4 times a year. Special classes on topics such as songwriting & vocal harmony.

      carol@carolmccomb.com
    • Darrel Ackerman

      Electric and acoustic guitar, blues and folk, theory and songwriting.

      DarrelAckerman@yahoo.com
    • Ed Johnson

      Guitar and voice: group classes,private lessons. Jazz, classical, folk,blues, rock. Vocal technique and harmony.

      edmundjohnson24@gmail.com
    • Greg Vaughan

      Electric and acoustic guitar, ukulele– contemporary and classic rock, alternative, blues. Teens through adults.

      greg.guitar@sbcglobal.net
    • Achille Bocus

      Classical mandolin instruction for all ages.

      iltremolo@gmail.com
    • Jack Tuttle

      Banjo, fiddle, mandolin, guitar, acoustic bass- private lessons in bluegrass, old time, Celtic, swing. Various group classes.

      jack@jacktuttle.com
    • Joey Fabian

      Bass lessons

      JCF1963@yahoo.com
    • Larry Chung

      Lap steel, Pedal steel and Dobro (resophonic slide guitar).All ages and styles.

      LarryChung@aol.com
    • Lisa Sanchez

      Electric/acoustic guitar- jazz, theory/sight-reading,folk/fingerstyle, classic rock, blues – all levels, adults/teens.

      lisa@lisasanchez.com
    • Rick Heizman

      Electric and acoustic guitar– classical, jazz, fingerstyle, ragtime, rock & blues.

      earthviewmusic@yahoo.com
    • Rick Vandivier

      Electric and acoustic guitar — jazz, blues, rock.

      rick@rickvandivier.com
    • Roz Lorenzato

      Folk-bluegrass guitar and mandolin for children ages 5 and up, string bass for all ages.

      rozlorenzato@yahoo.com
    • Tom Culbertson

      Old time, clawhammer banjo, finger-style guitar, Beginning Ukulele; Merle Travis, Chet Atkins, Doc Watson, etc.

      Tom@GryphonStrings.com
    • Walter Jebe

      Blues- Delta,Postwar Chicago, Texas, West Coast Swing, Open G Slide. Adults
      and children.

      walterjebe@yahoo.com